Monastery of the Assumption
The monastery of the Assumption comprises two courtyards surrounded by lofty white-washed galleries, covered with stone-slab roofs. The ensemble is very impressive. Visitors can see a museum devoted to the times revolutionary leader Vasil Levski (1837-73) spent at the monastery. They can also admire the fresco of the Lion and the Elephant, an original work by Zahari Zograf (1810-53), who also painted the church frescoes. Not to be missed either inside the building: the iconostasis (1839), carved by Petar Rezbar and Nikola Mateev, and the icons by Dimitar Zograf (1796-1860).