Fortress and Fishing Museum

Interesting
The lofty silhouette of this Venetian stronghold (1592), built on the quay, is dominated by a clock tower, whose construction was mainly financed by donations from the fishing community. The museum it houses is devoted to local fishing techniques and traditions, the history of canning factories (there were up to seven in the 19C) and shipbuilding. It also provides an opportunity to see a falkusa, an ingenious traditional fishing boat with removable sides.

Useful information

Address:

21485 Komiža

Price:

20 kn (children 10 kn)

Opening hours

Jun-Sep: 10am-noon, 7pm-10pm (times liable to variation)

Nearby tourist attractions

Our Lady of the Pirates Our Lady of the Pirates
Our Lady of the Pirates
Komiža
0:15
Blue Grotto Blue Grotto
Blue Grotto
Komiža
1:30
Mount Hum Mount Hum
Mount Hum
Vis
0:30
Vis Island Vis Island
Vis Island
Vis
4:00
Greek necropolis
Greek necropolis
Vis
1:00
Municipal museum and archaeological collections, Vis
Municipal museum and archaeological collections, Vis
Vis
1:30
See all tourist sites