A Baroque royal palace built alongside Lake Esrum by Frederik IV in the 18C. The central part is the oldest and has an octagonal courtyard. Great architects - Nicolai Eigtved (1701-1754), Laurids de Thurah and Nicolas Jardin - contributed to the design of the other buildings. The overriding result is one of harmony, in bright white and covered with green copper roofs. Inside, note the central hall with its huge cupola, Rococo winter garden and Baroque chapel. Delightful grounds with an orangery dating from 1995.
Address:Slottet 14, 3480 Fredensborg
Phone:+45 33 40 31 87
Price:80 DKK (-17 years old 40 DKK)
early Jul-early Aug: 12.30pm-4pm - park open all year