Église de Murbach

Recommended
Saint Firmin decided to found his abbey here in 727 because the remote wooded valley was ideal for walking and meditation. Today, all that remains of the abbey is its chancel and transept which were rebuilt in the 12C. The nave was demolished in 1738. The most striking part of the building is the chevet of Saint-Léger church, with its flat wall decorated with imaginatively arranged sculptures. Note the tympanum on the south door with low-relief carvings (including a lion with a protruding tongue) which have a real Oriental feel.

Useful information

Address:

68530 Murbach

Phone:

+33 3 89 76 60 48

Nearby tourist attractions

Parc Naturel Régional des Ballons des Vosges Parc Naturel Régional des Ballons des Vosges
Parc Naturel Régional des Ballons des Vosges
Munster
4:00
Rue des Blés
Rue des Blés
Guebwiller
0:15
St-Léger Church
St-Léger Church
Guebwiller
0:15
Town Hall
Town Hall
Guebwiller
0:30
Church of St-Pierre-and-St-Paul
Church of St-Pierre-and-St-Paul
Guebwiller
0:15
Ancien Couvent des Dominicains Ancien Couvent des Dominicains
Ancien Couvent des Dominicains
Guebwiller
0:15
See all