Quays of l'Isle and Salinières

Nowadays a place for pedestrians, this is where the port was once located, of which only the plane trees remain. The complex on the Quai des Salinières, made up of the Grand Port flanked by two towers, Tour Richard and Tour Barrée, is a vestige of the wall that was built from 1314, further to the destruction of the town by the French in 1294. Behind the tower, rue des Chais serves as a reminder that wine used to be stored here before shipment.

Useful information

Address:

Quais de l’Isle et des Salinières, 33500 Libourne

Nearby tourist attractions

Fine Arts Museum of Libourne Fine Arts Museum of Libourne
Fine Arts Museum of Libourne
Libourne
1:00
Château de Vayres
Château de Vayres
Vayres
1:00
Jurisdiction of Saint-Émilion
Jurisdiction of Saint-Émilion
Saint-Émilion
5:00
Tour du Roi (King's Tower) Tour du Roi (King's Tower)
Tour du Roi (King's Tower)
St-Émilion
0:30
Catacombs Catacombs
Catacombs
Saint-Émilion
0:15
Monolithic Church Monolithic Church
Monolithic Church
St-Émilion
0:15
See all tourist sites