Begun in 1060, the St-Julien basilica was completed in 1180, and heightened and vaulted in 1259. Admire the magnificent chevet: its terraces are in the Auvergnat Romanesque style while its ornamentation is more Burgundian. Note the original appearance of the ribbed vault lateral porches due to their use as chapels in the 16C. Admire also the elegant multicoloured 16C cobble paving in the nave, as well as the extraordinary sculpted capitals.
Address:Place St-Julien, 43100 Brioude
Phone:+33 4 71 74 97 49
summer: 9am-7pm; rest of year: 9am-5.30pm