Abbaye aux Dames
Sister to the Abbaye-aux-Hommes, the conventual buildings of this convent founded in 1062 by Queen Matilda, wife of William the Conqueror, were rebuilt in the 18C. Today, they are embellished with a French formal garden. The cloisters and wide double-flight staircase are particularly remarkable. The low-key church of La Trinité is a masterpiece of Normandy Romanesque architecture.
Address:Rue de Calix, 14000 Caen
See all tourist sites