Abbaye de Hambye

Hambye Abbey, founded around 1145 by the local lord, Guillaume Paynel, served as a stone "quarry" following the Revolution and was partially ruined. Now roofless, the abbey-church's elegant lancet windows and the imposing dimensions of its Gothic chancel continue to impress visitors. Temporary exhibitions are held in the refectory, and the dormitory is dedicated to the history of the abbey. There are also several remarkable rooms around the cloisters.

Useful information


Route de l’Abbaye, 50450 Hambye


+33 2 33 61 76 92

Opening hours

Jul-Aug: 10am-6pm; Apr-Jun and Sep: daily except Tue 10am-noon, 2pm-6pm; Autumn school hols: daily except Tue 10am-noon, 2pm-5pm - closed 1 May

Nearby tourist attractions

Cornille-Havard Bell foundry Cornille-Havard Bell foundry
Cornille-Havard Bell foundry