This mighty fortress with its thick walls is flanked by four solid towers, topped by a pepper box turret. The castle was restored thanks to the advice of the architect Viollet-le Duc. The inside, which was refurbished in 1876, contains souvenirs of the illustrious writer Châteaubriand. The Chat Tower, encloses the austere room of his childhood. There is a very beautiful view of the town, the lake and the grounds from the crenelated wall walk.
Address:23 rue des Princes, 35270 Combourg
Phone:+33 2 99 73 22 95
Price:8.30 € (-12 years old 4.20 €)
Jul-Aug: 10am-12.30pm, 2pm-6pm; Apr-Jun and Sep-Oct: daily except Sat (except Bank Hols) 10am-12.30pm, 2pm-6pm, Sun 2pm-6pm; rest of year: telephone for timetable - closed some Bank Hols