Château de Bussy-Rabutin

Several periods are depicted in Bussy-Rabutin's Château. The façade dates from the 17C, the ground floor is Louis XIII and the upper floors from 1649. As for the lavish and original interior decoration, it was entirely designed by writer Bussy-Rabutin. Not to be missed: the mottos room, the soldiers' antechamber, Bussy's bedroom, decorated with the portraits of 25 ladies from the royal court and the Golden tower, whose walls are entirely covered with paintings. The chapel, the 34ha/84-acre park and the gardens by Le Nôtre are also impressive.

Useful information


Rue du Château, 21150 Bussy-Le-Grand


+33 3 80 96 00 03


7.50 € (-26 years old free of charge)

Opening hours

mid May-mid Sep: 9.15am-1pm, 2pm-6pm; rest of year: 9.15am-noon, 2pm-5pm - closed 1 Jan, 1 May, 1 and 11 Nov, 25 Dec

Nearby tourist attractions

Mont Auxois
Mont Auxois