Cour de Bar

The 14C tower, built by Philip the Bold, overshadows this courtyard. Previously known as the new tower, its current name refers to the future King René, then Duke of Bar, who was held in the tower in 1431, a prisoner of Philip the Good. Today it is the oldest part of the former palace of the Dukes and Estates of Burgundy. It is the main entrance to the Museum of Fine Art and is closed to the public during renovation work.

Useful information

Address:

21000 Dijon

Nearby tourist attractions

Museum of Fine Art Museum of Fine Art
Museum of Fine Art
Dijon
3:00
Ducal Palace Quarter Ducal Palace Quarter
Ducal Palace Quarter
Dijon
1:30
Tower of Philippe the Good Tower of Philippe the Good
Tower of Philippe the Good
Dijon
0:30
Palace of the Dukes and States of Burgundy Palace of the Dukes and States of Burgundy
Palace of the Dukes and States of Burgundy
Dijon
1:30
Place des Ducs-de-Bourgogne Place des Ducs-de-Bourgogne
Place des Ducs-de-Bourgogne
Dijon
0:15
Cour d'Honneur of the Palace of the Dukes and States of Burgundy Cour d'Honneur of the Palace of the Dukes and States of Burgundy
Cour d'Honneur of the Palace of the Dukes and States of Burgundy
Dijon
0:30
See all tourist sites