Tour de l'Orle d'Or

The Orle d'Or Tower, cracked in many places, once formed part of Semur Castle, dismantled in 1602. It owes its name to the battlements (removed), once covered with coppered lead ("un ourlet d'or", a gold rim). Its dimensions are impressive: height 44m, walls 2.20m thick at the top, 5m at the base. Before Pont Joly was built (1787), the Orle d'Or Tower was also one of the gateways into town. Today, it houses the headquarters of Semur's Society of historical and natural science.

Useful information

Address:

Rue du Rempart, 21140 Semur-en-Auxois

Phone:

+33 3 80 97 05 96

Price:

3 € (-18 years old free of charge)

Opening hours

Jul-Aug: 2pm-7pm; May-Jun and Sep: telephone for timetable - closed Mon

Nearby tourist attractions

Rampart walk, Semur-en-Auxois
Rampart walk, Semur-en-Auxois
Semur-en-Auxois
0:30
Pont Joly
Pont Joly
Semur-en-Auxois
0:15
Notre-Dame Collegiate Church of Semur-en-Auxois
Notre-Dame Collegiate Church of Semur-en-Auxois
Semur-en-Auxois
0:30
Porte Sauvigny
Porte Sauvigny
Semur-en-Auxois
0:30
Semur-en-Auxois Municipal Museum
Semur-en-Auxois Municipal Museum
Semur-en-Auxois
1:00
See all