Oratoire du Louvre

The Oratorian Congregation built this oratory between 1621 and 1630 based on plans by Lemercier. Because of its proximity to the Louvre, it was used as a royal chapel during the reigns of Louis XIII, Louis XIV and Louis XV. Reconverted for use as a military warehouse and then as a store room for scenery from the opera house (at the time close by), it was transformed into a place of Protestant worship in 1811 upon the order of Napoleon.

Useful information

Address:

145 rue St-Honoré, 75001 Paris

Nearby tourist attractions

Bourse du Commerce
Bourse du Commerce
Paris
0:15
Galerie Véro-Dodat
Galerie Véro-Dodat
Paris
0:30
Rue de Rivoli Rue de Rivoli
Rue de Rivoli
Paris
0:15
Colonnade du Louvre Colonnade du Louvre
Colonnade du Louvre
Paris
1:30
Louvre courtyard (Cour Carrée) Louvre courtyard (Cour Carrée)
Louvre courtyard (Cour Carrée)
Paris
1:00
Medieval Louvre
Medieval Louvre
Paris
2:00
See all