Château de Puivert
Committed to the Cathar cause, the castle of Puivert was besieged in 1210. It was then entrusted to the Bruyères family, and enlarged and embellished during the 14C with a keep, main courtyard and linking walls. The square tower-gate from this period still remains, adorned with the Bruyères coat of arms, and the 35m/115ft high keep is still intact. The latter is comprised of four superposed rooms reached by a spiral staircase: lower room, guardroom with barrel vaulting, a rib-vaulted chapel with a "piscine" (basin for ablutions) set in the wall and a Minstrels room.