Abbey of Saint Michel de Cuxa
The current church of the 9C monastery of Cuxa was consecrated in 974. The nave is a rare example of pre-Romanesque art in France. In the 11C, Abbot Oliba enlarged the chancel, hollowed out the crypt of the Crèche and added two Romanesque bell towers. While the cloisters, dismantled during the Revolution, were bought by the New York Metropolitan Museum in 1925 and rebuilt in the USA, a section has nonetheless been rebuilt here at the monastery. Note the grace and detail of the 12C capitals.
Address:Route de Taurinya, 66500 Codalet
Phone:+33 4 68 96 15 35
Price:6 € (-18 years old 3.50 €)
Apr-Sep: 9am-11.50am, 2pm-6pm, Sun and religious hols 2pm-6pm; rest of year: 9am-11.50am, 2pm-5pm, Sun and religious hols 2pm-5pm - closed last 2 weeks Jan, 1 Jan, Easter Sun, 25 Dec