Originally built in the 10C, the medieval castle bears the stamp of the flamboyant Gaston de Foix, known as Gaston Phebus (1331-1391). Today the three remaining towers (about a quarter of the original buildings) house the Museum of Ariège. The superb panoramic view from the top of tower commands a view of the town, the Ariège Valley and the Pain de Sucre de Montgaillard (sugar loaf).
Address:Place du Palais-de-Justice, 09000 Foix
Phone:+33 5 34 09 83 83
Price:5.80 € (-18 years old 4 €) €
mid Jul-mid Aug: 10am-6.30pm; Jun: 10am-6pm; Apr-May and Sep: 10am-noon, 2pm-6pm; rest of year: telephone for timetable