Lewarde Mining Heritage Centre
Mined from 1931 to 1971, Delloye Colliery remains one of the major sites dedicated to mining heritage. The former pit top now houses the Mining History Centre, the largest mining museum in France. Visits start by going down shaft no 2 (helmets on) and into the galleries. The presentations chart the evolution of mining from the 19C until the 1990s, finishing with a tour of the processing building.
Address:Rue d’Erchin - fosse Delloye - CS30039, 59287 Lewarde
Phone:+33 3 27 95 82 82
Price:12.50 € (-18 years old 6.70 €)
early Mar-mid Nov: 9am-7.30pm; rest of year: 1pm-7pm, Sun, school hols and Bank Hols 10am-7pm (last admission 2am before closing) - closed Jan, 1 May, 25 Dec