Château de Fère
This 13C fortress was transformed into a country estate by Anne de Montmorency (1493-1567). The magnificent bridge-gallery, financed by the Grand Connétable, significantly softens the martial appearance of the ruined fortress. Giving access to the castle, it was open only to pedestrians. A gallery, now partially destroyed, runs along the top of the bridge. A door framed by two little beak-towers opens into the courtyard. Take a look at the seven well-proportioned round towers, around the base of which there is a curious arrangement of stones shaped like the teeth of a saw.