Le Moncel Royal Abbey - Abbaye Royale du Moncel
Founded in 1309 by Philip the Fair, this former Poor Clare abbey was particularly favoured by Philippe VI, the first king from the House of Valois (1328-1350). The church has gone but its ground plan has been brought to light. The front façade, which retains its medieval look, has two monumental chimneys. The courtyard is enclosed by three wings whose high brown-tiled roofs have been restored. There is much to admire, including the timber work (14C) of the former dormitories of the Poor Clare nuns, made out of oak from the Halatte Forest.