Place des Carmes

The church tower known as clocher des Augustins with its wrought-iron campanile is the only vestige of the convent founded in 1261. The St Symphorien Church (or "Eglise des Carmes") houses fine 16C painted wooden statues and paintings by Pierre Parrocel and Nicolas Mignard, specialist church painters, whose numerous works can be seen in Avignon and throughout Provence. The 14C cloister can be seen throught the gate on the left.

Useful information

Address:

place des Carmes, 84000 Avignon

Nearby tourist attractions

Église de la Visitation
Église de la Visitation
Avignon
0:15
Place St Jean le Vieux
Place St Jean le Vieux
Avignon
0:15
Chapelle des Pénitents Noirs
Chapelle des Pénitents Noirs
Avignon
0:15
Rue de la Banasterie
Rue de la Banasterie
Avignon
0:15
Place Jérusalem
Place Jérusalem
Avignon
0:15
Hôtel de Rascas
Hôtel de Rascas
Avignon
0:15
See all tourist sites