Now a palace, Salem abbey was built by Franz Beer from the Voralberg School. The size and rich decoration of the buildings bear witness to its former wealth and importance. The old summer refectory has retained its beautiful stuccoed ceiling, the work of the Schmuzer brothers, who also decorated the basket-handle vault in the library. Of particular interest are the Bernard gallery, the Imperial Hall completed in 1707, and the study of Abbot Anselm II decorated in Rococo style. The museum of the fire brigade is established in a wing of the castle.
See all tourist sites