Thurn und Taxis Palace

The princes of Thurn and Taxis held a monopoly on postal services in Germany until 1812. Once this ended, they received among other compensations the old abbey buildings of St Emmeran. They transformed the buildings into a palace and made it their home, which they called the Schloss Thurn und Taxis. As well as the function rooms, admire the imposing Romanesque-Gothic cloisters, and the lovely collection of carriages, carrying chairs and harnesses in the Stable Museum.

Useful information

Address:

Emmeramsplatz, 93047 Regensburg

Phone:

+49 941 5048133

Price:

13.50 €

Opening hours

guided tour (90min) Apr-Oct: daily 10.30am, 12.30pm, 2.30pm, 4.30pm; Nov-Mar: weekends and holidays 10.30am, 1.30pm,3.30pm - reduced tours (60min) Apr-Oct: 11.30am, 1.30pm and 3.30pm - closed 24-26 Dec - €13.50 (€10 reduced tour).

Nearby tourist attractions

Thurn and Taxis Museum
Thurn and Taxis Museum
Regensburg
St Emmeramus's Church
St Emmeramus's Church
Regensburg
0:15
Hinter der Grieb
Hinter der Grieb
Regensburg
0:15
Haidplatz
Haidplatz
Regensburg
0:15
St Jacob's Church, Regensburg
St Jacob's Church, Regensburg
Regensburg
0:15
Old Town Hall, Regensburg
Old Town Hall, Regensburg
Regensburg
0:30
See all