This superb palace was built between 1720 and 1744 under the direction of architect Balthazar Neumann, replacing the old Marienberg fortress as the bishops' residence. The monumental grand staircase ending in a double flight is one of Neumann's masterpieces and the huge fresco (600m2) is by the Venetian painter Tiepolo, who was also responsible for the decoration of the oval-shaped Imperial hall. The splendid Rococo-style ceremonial apartments have been restored.
Address:Rezidenzplatz 2, 97070 Würzburg
Phone:+49 931 355170
guided tour Apr-Oct: 9am-6pm; Nov-Mar: 10am-4.30pm - tours in English daily at 11am, 1.30pm and 3pm (and 4.30pm Apr-Oct) - closed 1 Jan, Shrove Tue, 24-25 and 31 Dec