Branitz Castle and grounds
Branitz castle was built by Gottfried Semper in 1772. The dining room and library are still graced with period furniture. A gallery of paintings exhibits works by Karl Blechen, a Romantic artist born in Cottbus. Former Tudor-style stables in front of the castle are now the venue for exhibitions and the Riders' House has been converted into a tea room. The park was designed to give the impression of a natural lakeside setting. Of particular interest is the burial mound under which lie the remains of the prince.
Address:Robinienweg 5, 03042 Cottbus
Phone:+49 355 75150
Apr-Oct: 10am-6pm; Nov-Mar: daily except Mon 11am-5pm - closed 24 Dec - €5.50 (castle), €4.50 (estate)