This hall church, characteristic of Late Gothic, was built in the late 15C in replacement of the Romanesque church. Its relatively plain exterior gives no indication of the immense treasure within: an exquisite pulpit made in 1505 in the shape of tulip flower; triple-keyboard organs by Gottfried Silbermann (45 stops and 2,674 pipes); a gilded doorway with eight arches from the former church and a 16C mortuary chapel reworked in the Mannerist style.
Address:Untermarkt, 09599 Freiberg
Phone:+49 3731 300340
May-Oct: 10am-5pm, Sun 11.30am-5pm; Nov-Apr: 11am-4pm, Sun 11.30am-4pm - guided tour May-Oct: 11am, 2pm, 3pm, Sun and Bank Hols 11.30am, 2pm, 3pm; Nov-Apr: 11am (Sun 11.30am), 2pm