Evrípos Bridge

The first bridge linking Euboea with the mainland was built on this spot in 411 BC. It was succeeded by the fortified Black Bridge with its central bastion, as seen on numerous old engravings, then in 1896, an iron swing bridge. The present bridge (from 1962) has two half spans that drop down and roll back to allow boats to pass in the direction of the current. The Evripos has alternating currents that change direction from north-south to south-north.

Useful information

Address:

34300 Chalkida