This castle, built for Louis the Great (1326-82), should be imagined as it was when it was first built in the midst of woodland. The castle later became known as the Queens' Castle, as it was the country residence of six different queens. Built according to a square plan, it has a tower on each corner; there are fine views of the town from one of these. After being neglected for almost 300 years, the castle was fully restored from the 1960s onwards and has been completely refurnished. It is now used as a venue for shows and events.