Four Courts

Interesting
Four Courts, erected in 1785 by Thomas Cooley and finished in 1802 by James Gandon, housed 4 halls: Chancery, King's Bench, Exchequer and Common Pleas. In 1921, at the start of the Civil War, it was almost entirely destroyed by the explosion of mines, as were the documents of the National Archives which it housed, some of which dated back to 1174, now sadly lost for ever.

Useful information

Address:

Inns Quay Dublin

Nearby tourist attractions

Dublin old town Dublin old town
Dublin old town
Dublin
1:00
St Michan's Church
St Michan's Church
Dublin
0:15
St Audoen's Gate St Audoen's Gate
St Audoen's Gate
Dublin
0:30
Dublinia Dublinia
Dublinia
Dublin
1:00
St Audoen's Church
St Audoen's Church
Dublin
0:15
Christ Church Cathedral Christ Church Cathedral
Christ Church Cathedral
Dublin
0:30
See all tourist sites