The two 18C houses are named after Cardinal Newman, the first rector of University College, founded in 1854. The smaller house, designed by Richard Castle, still has numerous original features, including its windows. Inside, the decoration of the Apollo Room sports superb depictions of Apollo and his muses, by the Lafranchini brothers. In the larger house (1765), the staircase is decorated with Rococo stuccowork by Richard West portraying birds and musical instruments.
Address:85-86 St Stephen's Green Dublin
Phone:+353 1 706 7422
guided tour Jun-Aug: Tue-Fri 2pm, 3pm and 4pm
See all tourist sites