Athy City Centre
The present Crom-a-Boo bridge, named after the Fitzgerald family war cry, dates back to 1796. The main square near the river is enhanced by the courthouse, constructed in 1856 for use as the Corn Exchange. Opposite, stands the town hall, which was also built in the mid 18C to house a marke and, on the upper floor,the court rooms. The brick-vaulted ground floor currently houses the Heritage Centre.