The ruins of a castle, made up of a massive keep surrounded by fragments of a tower, a wall and an entrance gate, lie at the west end of the main street. The tower was built in the 12C by the Fitzgeralds, who lived there until 1656, except for a period of seventeen years following the rebellion of Silken Thomas in 1535. When they finally left it they built a new home on the east end of the main street. This house was rebuilt around 1739.
Price:free of charge
May-Sep: 10am-6pm - closed Mon-Tue