Limerick is unusual among Irish towns in possessing two sets of almshouses, north and south of the castle. Villiers Almshouses, created in 1826 for 12 poor Protestant widows, were designed by James Pain to form three sides of a courtyard in the Bishop's garden. The Corporation Almshouses, also known as the 40-shillings Almshouses or Widow's Almshouses, were built by Limerick Corporation in 1691, for the use of 20 widows.
Address:Nicholas St. Limerick