On each side of the centre, known as the Square and lit by oil lamps, there is a house, flanked by a smaller house on either side. These were built at the end of the 18C by Viscount Conyngham. Around 1795, Francis Johnston designed the Gothic door, destined to become the entrance to the castle. From the bridge over the Boyne the view takes in Slane Castle, Slane Mill (1766), the weir and the canal, bordered by a towpath to Navan upstream and Drogheda downstream.
©Horst Sollinger/imageBROKER/age fotostockSlane