Enniscorthy Castle

Interesting
The threatening outline of this stronghold flanked by four towers and built by the Normans in 1205 to keep watch over the River Slaney, stands at the top of Castle Hill. After several centuries in the hands of the MacMurroughs, Irish allies of the Normans, the castle was returned to the English Crown in 1550. Recent work has recreated the historic Anglo-Norman atmosphere in some of the rooms. The castle also exhibits souvenirs related to local history...

Useful information

Address:

Castle Hill Enniscorthy

Phone:

+353 53 923 4699

Price:

5 € (children 3 €)

Opening hours

summer: 9.30am-5pm; winter: 10am-4pm, weekends noon-5pm - guided tour every hr, including access to the roof of the castle

Nearby tourist attractions

St Aidan's Cathedral
St Aidan's Cathedral
Enniscorthy
0:15
National 1798 Visitor Centre
National 1798 Visitor Centre
Enniscorthy
1:00