Wexford Franciscan Friary

The church, founded by the Franciscans in 1230, was confiscated in 1540 upon the Dissolution of the Monasteries and then returned to the order in 1622. The present church, which has been restored, has an attractive stucco ceiling and works by Irish contemporary artists, including a striking modern sculpture: the Burning Bush Tabernacle, by Brother Benedict Tutty from Glenstal Abbey.

Useful information

Address:

School St. Wexford

Nearby tourist attractions

Wexford's Main Street
Wexford's Main Street
Wexford
0:15
St Iberius' Church
St Iberius' Church
Wexford
0:15
Westgate Heritage Centre Westgate Heritage Centre
Westgate Heritage Centre
Wexford
0:30
Selskar Abbey
Selskar Abbey
Wexford
0:15
Wexford Wildfowl Reserve
Wexford Wildfowl Reserve
Wexford
4:00
Johnstown Castle and Irish Agricultural Museum Johnstown Castle and Irish Agricultural Museum
Johnstown Castle and Irish Agricultural Museum
Murntown
1:30
See all