Rectors' Fortress (Rocca dei Rettori)
The austere Rocca dei Rettori (also known as the Castle of Manfredi) was built in the 14C to house the papal rectors, clerks sent by the Holy See to Benevento. The massive tower, a fine example of material from Roman buildings being reused, survives from the oldest part of the castle. Today, the building houses the permanent exhibition Uomini Eccellenti, dedicated to the Risorgimento, the period that led to Italian unification in 1860.
Address:Piazza Castello, 82100 Benevento
Phone:+39 0824 774111
8am-2pm, 3pm-6pm (9.30pm Fri and Sun Jul-Sep)