Nelson's Castle (Castello di Nelson)

This was a Benedictine Abbey which Queen Marguerite, wife of William the bad founded in the 12C. The annex chapel has an attractive portal and a Byzantine icon inside, which according to legend is a 13C copy of an original, which was brought to the Abbey by the condottiere (mercenary leader) Giorgio Maniace in 1040. Then, after many avatars, the Mo Ferdinand III gifted the Monastery to the English admiral Nelson en 1799.

Useful information


Maniace, 95034 Bronte


+39 095 690018


3 €

Opening hours

Apr-Oct: 9am-1pm, 2.30pm-6.30pm; Nov-Mar: 9am-1pm, 2pm-5.30pm