Victor Hugo wrote of Beaufort Castle that "it appears after a turn in the road, in a forest, at the bottom of a ravine; what a sight. It is splendid". The old castle is an enormous keep-tower attached to a fortress, whose surroundings were cleared and entrances strengthened during restoration work in 1930. The neighbouring castle was built in 1649 by the Lord of Beaufort. A footpath leads to a river.
See all tourist sites