Waag

This red brick construction dates from 1598. It is cantoned at the corners with heraldic lions above which runs a frieze sculpted with motifs. The weighing of butter and cheese took place here until 1880. The large canopy was designed to protect the merchandise from the sun.

Useful information

Address:

8911 Leeuwarden

Nearby tourist attractions

Over de Kelders
Over de Kelders
Leeuwarden
0:15
Hofplein
Hofplein
Leeuwarden
0:15
Eewal
Eewal
Leeuwarden
0:15
Grote Kerkstraat
Grote Kerkstraat
Leeuwarden
0:15
Museum Het Princessehof (Dutch Ceramics Museum)
Museum Het Princessehof (Dutch Ceramics Museum)
Leeuwarden
2:00
Grote of Jacobijnerkerk
Grote of Jacobijnerkerk
Leeuwarden
0:15
See all