The Essential
This place shares its land with a Belgian community (Baarle-Hertog) made up of thirty or so enclaves in Dutch territory. The village of Baerle was in effect split in two in the 12C: the south came under the Duke of Brabant (Baerle-Duc) and the north, attached to the Barony of Breda, was called Baarle-Nassau as Breda, at the start of the 15C, became a fiefdom of the Nassau family. You will recognise the nationality of each house by the plaque giving its number.