This building was begun in 1452 and was inspired by Brussels town hall. The first floor of the main façade has ten Gothic windows. The roof is decorated with 24 skylights. The main flight of steps dates from the 18C, while the octagonal turret to the right dates from the 17C, with a belfry dominating the whole building. The interior is furnished in traditional fashion (don't miss the Burgerzaal, an old cloth market hall).
Address:Markt, 4331 CD Middelburg
Phone:+31 118 674 300
guided tour in high season
See all tourist sites