Blaafarveværket

Recommended
This former industrial site of disused mines was turned into a museum in 1968. It charts the history of cobalt mining and the ties the site forged with the art world. In 1883 the first Open-Air Academy exclusively for Norwegian artists, including Edvard Munch, was held in the entrepreneur's house. Visitors can see workers' houses, the technical director's house, a school, grocery shop and the glassworks, where crushed cobalt was transformed into blue pigment.

Useful information

Address:

Koboltveien 11, 3340 Åmot

Phone:

+47 32 78 67 00

Price:

90 nok

Opening hours

end Jun-mid Aug: 11am-6pm; mid May-end Jun and mid Aug-mid Sep: Tue-Sat 11am-5pm, Sun 11am-6pm