Foundry Museum

Located on Malmplassen, a vast open court where shipments of copper ore used to arrive and be weighed on a weighbridge before being processed, the current foundry is a replica of the previous building - this dated from 1888 and was destroyed in a fire. When it was closed for good in 1977, the Norwegian government bought the land and buildings and turned it into a museum where the techniques of extraction and melting copper are illustrated with magnificent hand-made models.

Useful information

Address:

Malmplassen, 7374 Røros

Phone:

+47 72 40 61 70

Price:

110 NOK (-17 years old free of charge)

Opening hours

mid Jun-mid Aug: 10am-6pm; early Jun-mid Jun and mid Aug-mid Sep: 10am-4pm; rest of year: 10am-3pm

Nearby tourist attractions

Church
Church
Røros
0:15
Old town
Old town
Røros
1:30