In open countryside, this huge abbey complex has had a tumultuous history. Benedictines occupied the site from 1150 but were soon replaced by Cistercians. After a period of decline, the monastery prospered again during the 17C. Major works from that time have endowed the site with its current guise. Abandoned in 1810, this majestic site has something ghostly about it. There is a big surprise in store on the first floor in the form of the huge Baroque Ducal Chamber with its massive ceiling embellished by frescoes, stuccowork and statues.