Camaldolese Monastery

Recommended
Standing on a promontory of Lake Wigry that was once an island, the site was granted to the Camaldolese by Polish King Jan Kazimierz in 1667. They soon built a Baroque church, monastery, small hermitages and outbuildings ranging from a blacksmiths to the unavoidable brewery. Even if wars have taken their toll on the buildings, the superbly restored site is steeped in serenity. Stroll among the former monks' houses and enjoy the fine view from the bell tower.

Useful information

Address:

Suwalki