Monastery of Santa María la Real
The monastery of Santa María la Rea was bequeathed to the Premonstratentian Order by King Alfonso VIII in 1169. In 1222, Mauricio, bishop of Burgo, consecrated the church. Twenty-three ornately carved Romanesque capitals from the church, cloister and other monastic edifices in the area were discovered in 1871. The monastery is home to the Rom, an exhibition area devoted to Romanesque art.
Address:P 212, 34800 Aguilar de Campóo
Phone:+34 979 12 30 53
Jul-Sep: 10.30am-2pm, 4.30pm-8pm; rest of year: Tue-Fri 4pm-8pm, weekends and Bank Hols 10.30am-2pm, 4.30pm-7.30pm - closed Mon