Monasterio de Sobrado dos Monxes
The origin of this Cistercian monastery dates back to the 12C. It was extended and remodelled in the 17C and 18C before being abandoned in 1834. Restoration work began here in 1954. Today, it is still occupied by a small Cistercian community. Inside, the Medallions' Cloister and the cupolas crowning the transept, sacristy and Rosary Chapel are of a remarkable design. A chapter house and a kitchen with a monumental chimney are all that remain of the original medieval buildings.
Address:15813 Sobrado dos Monxes
Phone:+34 981 78 75 09
Mon-Sat 10am-1pm, 4.30pm-7pm, Sun and office days noon-1pm, 4.30pm-7pm (in winter, it is preferable to come before dusk as the monastery does not have electric lighting) - check opening hours during Holy Week, Easter, Whitsun and Christmas periods