Royal sites of Aranjuez
The estate dates back to the 14C when it was used by the Catholic Monarchs. Carlos V enlarged the domain, but the present palace can be attributed to Felipe II who called on future architects of the Escorial to erect a new palace and gardens. In the 18C, the Bourbons made Arunjuez one of the main royal residences. Ravaged by fires in 1727 and 1748, it was restored and treated to a new façade. Carlos III added two wings to the palace and the delightful Labourer's Cottage was commissioned by Carlos IV.