In the 16C, the future Charles IX, then Duke of Södermanland, built a sumptuous Renaissance palace. It was destroyed by fire in 1665 and never restored; today there remains only the Renaissance guardroom and the Kungstornet (king's tower), as well as the ruins of an old keep with its legendary dungeons in the northeastern corner of the courtyard. Nyköpinghus is home to the Sörmlands Museum (Södermanlands), which has exhibitions retracing various aspects of the history of the town and the castle.
Phone:+46 155 24 57 20
Price:free of charge
Jun-Aug: 11am-5pm; rest of year: Sun 10am-4pm