Built in 1753 for Queen Louise Ulrique, the Chinese pavilion, situated in the grounds of the royal palace, was extended and rebuilt ten years later in a Rococo style showing a touch of exotic inspiration. Carl Fredrik Adelcrantz created this Chinese fantasy between 1763 and 1767. Jean Eric Rehn then surpassed himself when he designed the red, green, yellow and blue rooms, embellished with lacquered panels and an abundance of decoration and display cabinets, the latter displaying delicate Chinese objects.
Address:178 02 Lovö
Phone:+46 8 402 62 80
Price:80 sek (-18 years old 40 sek)
May-Sep: 10am-4.30pm; Oct: 11am-3.30pm; rest of year: telephone for timetable
See all tourist sites